KyleWrite


So, so tired……
September 5, 2007, 8:15 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Well friends, its been awhile since we connected.

Currently, I’m sitting in terminal D of the Miami international airport. I’ve been here since 7:20ET and my next flight departs at 1:30. Since about 8:30 the terminal has been full of sunburned middle aged cocktail sipping revelers. Ugh.

All grumpiness aside, I am so ecstatic to be here. I am about to embark on my first journey to coffee producing origin, headed to Caranavi to kick it with some of the folks responsible for producing Intelligentsia’s Anjilanaka mark, which I used as the primary component of my espresso for the WRBC.

My tasks here are twofold : first, I will be training baristas from local hotels, restaurants and cafes in Santa Cruz for a couple of days. Then, it will be off to Caranavi with my guide Fernando to cup some of the current harvest. I’m excited and oddly nervous for both parts.

On a side note, thanks to all who sent their congratulations on our store opening. Its been overwhelming on many levels but I think early indications are very good.

I will be updating from Bolivia on the Intelli.LA blog, if any of you wish to check in on me.

Cheers,

Kyle

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Kyle,
Just returned from Africa. Cupped many coffees from Oromia and Yiracheffe. When you get back call me (702)756-2662

Comment by Mike Milner

kyle- looks like this is your other dead blog. Congratulations! Keep it real.

Comment by Edwin Martinez

Kyle,

What do you think of Papua New Guinea coffee beans? I have read good things about it, but have not seen many places use them. Is there a lack of demand, are people just not interested in them??

Comment by Sam

Kyle,
I saw your informative piece on BBtv on “looking for the perfect bean”. Seeing as you’re the 2008 USBC Champion and ambassador of coffee, I figure you’re a deserving soul of one of our freshly brewed “caffeine” t-shirts just launched in the LA area. Take a look at our selection and let us know which one you’d like-a congratulations on the house.

http://www.laughinghyena.biz

Cheers,
Jeremiah

Comment by Jeremiah




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

